Annual Board of Directors Elections Feature Selection of Chair and Vice Chair

  Back  See more recent articles

During SEARCH's annual Membership Group meeting held July 16-19, 2012, in Cincinnati, Ohio, SEARCH Members held elections for the Board of Directors, including elections for the offices of Chairman and Vice Chairman.

Francis X. (Paco) Aumand III

Brad Truitt
Mr. Francis X. (Paco) Aumand III, Director, Criminal Justice Services, Vermont Department of Public Safety, was elected to a new two-year term as Chairman of the SEARCH Membership Group. Mr. Aumand previously served as SEARCH Chair from 2004-2010. He has been the Vermont representative to the Membership Group since 1996, and in 2011 was recognized by his Membership Group colleagues with the Gary R. Cooper Meritorious Service Award.

"I am honored and humbled to have been elected for the second time as Chair of this organization," he said.

Mr. Aumand replaces Captain Thomas W. Turner, Division Commander, Criminal Justice Information Services, Virginia State Police, who has served as SEARCH Chair since 2010. Capt. Turner declined to seek re-election as Chair.

Mr. Brad Truitt, Director of Information Systems, Tennessee Bureau of Investigation, was re-elected to a new, 2-year term as Vice Chairman of SEARCH. He has served as SEARCH Vice Chair since 2010, and has served on the Board for 6 years. Mr. Truitt has been SEARCH's Tennessee representative to the Membership Group since 2004.

Newly elected Board members are:

Dr. Natalie Chrastil
Deputy Director of CJIS
Wyoming Division of Criminal Investigation

Ms. Dawn Peck
Bureau of Criminal Identification
Idaho State Police

Mr. Oded Galili
Deputy Director
Minnesota Justice Information Services
Bureau of Criminal Apprehension

State and At-Large Members re-elected to a second term are:

Dr. Alfred Blumstein
J. Erik Jonsson Professor
Urban Systems and Operations
H. John Heinz III School of Public Policy and Management
Carnegie-Mellon University

Ms. Terry D. Gibbons
Deputy Director
Georgia Bureau of Investigation
Georgia Crime Information Center

Ms. Liane Moriyama
Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center
Department of the Attorney General

Continuing to serve on the Board (with one year remaining on their terms) are these State and At-Large Members:

Mr. David Jobes
Assistant Director
Division of Criminal Investigation
Iowa Department of Public Safety

Maj. Douglas Shelton
Records Division
Indiana State Police

Mr. David Steingraber
Senior Policy Advisor
National Criminal Justice Association

Ms. Judy Volk
Information Services Manager
Bureau of Criminal investigation
North Dakota Office of Attorney General

Mr. Robert Wessels
Vice Chair
Judicial Committee on Information Technology
State of Texas

Col. Robert Williams
Maine State Police